This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.6 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
7.7
Property location
9.2
Facilities
7.7
Staff
9.1
Value
8.6
Reviews
    Faisal
    pt
    9.2
    17 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jonas
    dk
    8.8
    2 August 2017
    Small but allright bathroom. No aircondition.
    Great view, nive personel and lovely city
    Peter
    ca
    6.7
    1 January 2017
    don't be misled by the breakfast photos
    Breakfast is not included, contrary to what the photos of the nice breakfasts on the patio may suggest. Small room was cluttered with decorative shelves and baskets leaving no room for suitcases etc. Bed was small and firm.
    Good location and view
    Philip
    gb
    10
    21 October 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Hans
    fr
    8.8
    23 August 2016
    Portugese hospitality and kindness
    In the heat of summer, airco would be great.
    Superb view. Very! nice and friendly hosts who immediately make you feel at home. I have seldom met host who go so far out of their way for their guests. The B&B has no swimmingpool (you really stay in a house in the ancient city) , however the river and the accessibility of a small beach beat the swimming pool anytime. What the place lacks in comfort is made up 10 fold by the kindness and enthusiasm of the hosts who know so much of the city and the surroundings.
    Annie and Dave
    gb
    10
    20 July 2016
    A perfect stay at the start and finish of a magic paddleboarding trip down the Guadiana river!
    Nothing - all great!
    We had a wonderful stay at Casa de Funil. Mertola is beautiful, and the house was in a perfect location- the balcony and rooms looked out over the town and the magnificent Guadiana river. We found the house clean, and the breakfast was delicious. Best of all though was the hospitality we received. Rui and his wife went above and beyond to call of duty to make us feel welcome and to ensure we had a fantastic trip: Mertola was a starting point for a 4 day stand up paddleboarding trip down through the Guadiana National Park to Alcoutim. Rui who knows the area like the back of his hand gave us tips where to camp, where to stop for lunch and supplies making the whole trip such a success. He even packed us off with food and wine he sold to us after we discovered the shops were all shut and arranged pick up from Alcoutim when we couldn't get a taxi. Would definetly recommend casa de Funil as a place to stay for a trip to Mertola, or a base to explore the beautiful surrounding national park.
    HM_IRL
    ie
    10
    19 July 2016
    holiday in the tropics.
    The owners are the most pleasant and helpful hosts.
    Kirsyen
    nz
    10
    9 July 2016
    Beautiful view from the window.
    Beautifully designed accommodation. Both Paula and Rui were very helpful on what to do and see in the area. Would definitely go back!
    Ana
    pt
    7.9
    29 June 2016
    No breakfast. No mosquito nets in windows. No A.C.
    Super clean, simple but comfortable room, amazing patio.
    Robert
    gb
    7.1
    19 June 2016
    Wotno Multibanco?
    The hotel did not accept cards. Had I known it would not have been a problem. Qw were marched to a Multibanco to get cash. Booking.com did not make us aware of this
    Stein
    no
    9.2
    5 June 2016
    Mertola is a very nice Place for an active holiday.
    Kathleen
    gb
    9.6
    29 April 2016
    Stunning views, great for birdwatching
    We loved our hosts, They made us feel very welcome. My husband is a keen birdwatchers and Rui was very happy to give us lots of info about the area, he organised a trip up and down the river for us and invited us to join him and his friends for the evening. The terrace is a beautiful place to sit and have a glass of wine with great views.
    Robert
    ca
    8.8
    11 March 2016
    Convenent place to stay for brief visit to town.
    Very small room. Not the easiest access due to narrow roads.
    Great view over river and kayaking. Convenient for visiting church, castle and many museums.
    Ian
    ca
    8.8
    28 February 2016
    Warm ambience for B & B in ancient Mertola
    Bed could have been longer. En suite bathroom very tiny (but please use bigger one across the hallway as we have no other guests tonight!)
    Extra consideration given by owners ("would you like to do some wine tasting later? - you left your drivers licence behind, when Rui tracked me down after check-out in a local cafe having breakfast)
    Jaap
    nl
    7.9
    28 February 2016
    The bed was rather small for a tall person like me (1m92)
    Small room with a small bed and a very small bathroom, but on a beautiful location and for a reasonable price. Friendly people. Clean.
Close