Reviews

8.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
7.7
Property location
9.2
Facilities
7.7
Staff
9.1
Value
8.4

Reviews

    Filipe
    pt

    Review score

    9.0
    20 June 2018

    Nice and pleasant.

    Bathroom is a bit small for a family.
    Location is fantastic.
    David
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    18 June 2018
    Was a bit surprised that the superior room we booked didn't have an ensuite bathroom. No facilities in the room to make tea or coffee but the owners very kindly allowed us to use their private kitchen.
    Great location, great welcome, lovely room with a fab view.
    David
    gb

    Review score

    10
    2 June 2018

    A lovely twin room..even had a sofa and excellent wi fi

    Nothing
    The room had a lovely outlook over the river
    Andrew
    gb

    Review score

    10
    27 April 2018
    Great location. Friendly
    Andrew
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    27 April 2018
    Friendly greeting. Perfect location.
    Anna-Lea
    de

    Review score

    10
    24 April 2018

    Beautiful town, wonderful hosts!

    The hosts were the loveliest people you'll ever meet, gave me great tips for my visit and made me feel at very much at home! Rui even picked me up from the bus station and drove me to Tavira when I missed my Bus!! I was completely blown away by their kindness. The room had a terrific view and was very tidy.
    Simon
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    19 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mark
    gb

    Review score

    9.5
    13 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Paul
    au

    Review score

    7.5
    3 March 2018

    Good place for a short stay. Owner is very helpful.

    Bathroom was very small.
    Good location in an old village over looking the river.Went to a fantastic local restaurant.
    Faisal
    pt

    Review score

    9.2
    17 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jonas
    dk

    Review score

    8.8
    2 August 2017
    Small but allright bathroom. No aircondition.
    Great view, nive personel and lovely city
    Peter
    ca

    Review score

    6.7
    1 January 2017

    don't be misled by the breakfast photos

    Breakfast is not included, contrary to what the photos of the nice breakfasts on the patio may suggest. Small room was cluttered with decorative shelves and baskets leaving no room for suitcases etc. Bed was small and firm.
    Good location and view
    Philip
    gb

    Review score

    10
    21 October 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Hans
    fr

    Review score

    8.8
    22 August 2016

    Portugese hospitality and kindness

    In the heat of summer, airco would be great.
    Superb view. Very! nice and friendly hosts who immediately make you feel at home. I have seldom met host who go so far out of their way for their guests. The B&B has no swimmingpool (you really stay in a house in the ancient city) , however the river and the accessibility of a small beach beat the swimming pool anytime. What the place lacks in comfort is made up 10 fold by the kindness and enthusiasm of the hosts who know so much of the city and the surroundings.
    Annie and Dave
    gb

    Review score

    10
    20 July 2016

    A perfect stay at the start and finish of a magic paddleboarding trip down the Guadiana river!

    Nothing - all great!
    We had a wonderful stay at Casa de Funil. Mertola is beautiful, and the house was in a perfect location- the balcony and rooms looked out over the town and the magnificent Guadiana river. We found the house clean, and the breakfast was delicious. Best of all though was the hospitality we received. Rui and his wife went above and beyond to call of duty to make us feel welcome and to ensure we had a fantastic trip: Mertola was a starting point for a 4 day stand up paddleboarding trip down through the Guadiana National Park to Alcoutim. Rui who knows the area like the back of his hand gave us tips where to camp, where to stop for lunch and supplies making the whole trip such a success. He even packed us off with food and wine he sold to us after we discovered the shops were all shut and arranged pick up from Alcoutim when we couldn't get a taxi. Would definetly recommend casa de Funil as a place to stay for a trip to Mertola, or a base to explore the beautiful surrounding national park.
    HM_IRL
    ie

    Review score

    10
    19 July 2016

    holiday in the tropics.

    The owners are the most pleasant and helpful hosts.
    Kirsyen
    nz

    Review score

    10
    9 July 2016

    Beautiful view from the window.

    Beautifully designed accommodation. Both Paula and Rui were very helpful on what to do and see in the area. Would definitely go back!
    Ana
    pt

    Review score

    7.9
    29 June 2016
    No breakfast. No mosquito nets in windows. No A.C.
    Super clean, simple but comfortable room, amazing patio.
    Robert
    us

    Review score

    10
    23 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nathan
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    7 October 2017

    Beautiful, clean rooms in a perfect location

    It was very hot when I stayed there and there is no AC. Not unusual for Portugal but made sleeping less than optimal.
    Beautiful, modern rooms. Very clean. Beautiful views from the rooms and terrace.